Ongoing Breakdown experience... CATASTROPHICALLY AWFUL!

Hello all,

I’m going to post my experience so far which is currently ongoing to prewarn you all of the nightmare you will experience should you ever have a breakdown.

I’ve been an Onto customer for the last several months and have been using the E208 GT model up until the 1st February where I swapped to a VW e-up, so that myself and my partner can save up a bit of extra money for a long awaiting holiday in April to Italy.

We desperately need this holiday… She is a paramedic, I’m a police officer, we’ve had our rest days and annual leave cancelled on many occasions over the last 2 years due to the pandemic and have barely had any time to spend with each other. We’ve also suspended plans on having a family specifically for this reason too until we know things are more settled.

Upon swapping to the e-up, all was initially fine, I drop it back home ok as I had to do a swap at my brother address in another postcode area and drove it back to my area.

I was able to rapid charge it correctly with no dramas and was fine up until the 4th February.

Upon going to the gym, which fortunately has an instavolt on the car park, I noticed that the charge would fail after a moment. I tried another charger, same issue. I then drove to a different location and again, same issue. So clearly a problem with the car.

I called the breakdown team and explained my situation as I only had 20 miles left of charge.

The AA were sent out, and the AA chap immediately when getting out of the car told me in words to the effect of “I don’t know why they send us to these cars, I can’t do anything”… He then continued on to say “If you want though I can call the local garage and get them to have it off you tomorrow Saturday 5th Feb and they’ll get you in a hire car”, clearly that worked for me and all seemed fine so far.