Newbie Question: Home chargers

Hi,

New to Onto and EV cars, so apologies if this has been answered before.

There seems to be a myriad of home chargers in the market, which one is best, and not tie you to one particular make or model?

I intend to home charge if possible, and have 3 phase power already, are the higher wattage chargers worth it… we may look at another electric car if this “experiment” works out, so this may change the question.

Also looking at the installer sites, all prices quoted stated the Gov discount, but to qualify you need to own/prove ownership of an EV… or am I misunderstanding that?
So using Onto is not really a way of getting that discount?

Hi Francis I’m a newbie to joined onto just under a month ago. Haven’t gone to the home charging route yet as seeing how it works with the polar and shell cards but my understanding is you still would qualify with the grant for a home charger still with leasing

Get a Zappi if you have solar panels, or a Pod Point if you do not.
Going 3-Phase probably won’t cost much extra since you already have the supply, so it may well be worth it, but remember that not all cars will be able to make full use of it.

You may still be able to get the grant with an ONTO Vehicle. Get in touch with them when they are back in the office on Monday and see what they can do for you. Different people seem to get different answers about this. Some people get told yes, others get told yes but only if they sign up to a 6 month contract, and some are told no, from what I have seen.

Looking at the gov website * individuals who lease an eligible vehicle for at least 6 months is the criteria when leasing

They’re all pretty similar nowadays to be honest, I’d base my decision on the best deal unless you’re looking for a specific feature.

Some energy providers offer big discounts, could even be worth temporarily switching if someone is going a good deal?