Finally booked a Zoe! Lots of travel to come!

After lurking on these forums for over a year now I’ve finally decided it’s time to book in my first EV!

I’m excited but also a bit nervous as I am a musician and I gig up and down the UK most weekends. The furthest gig we’ve got is Fife and I’m based in Leicestershire!
Most gigs are usually 2 hours or more so it’s definitely going to be a good test of whether I can get along with an EV.

I really want it to work out! So fingers crossed :crossed_fingers:

Have you guys done many long trips? I understand getting all the apps etc. But are there any other tips and tricks? Best motorway speed for example?

Also let’s hope the Zoe has enough room for my equipment haha.

8 Likes

Well you’ve gone for the vehicle with the best range at that price point. Zoe has a surprisingly large boot for a car in it’s segment.

Tips? It’s all about planning. Use Zap-Map filter to select all networks included in the ONTO subscription, and then CCS and 50kW and above chargers to locate the rapids on the route you intend to take. A warm and low state of charge battery charges quicker, so try and recharge well into your journey. Try and time charging stops to coincide with comfort and meal breaks. Reducing motorway speeds from 70 to 60mph will help increase range if you’re not in a rush.

4 Likes

There’s a guy on YouTube under the channel name of “Battery Life” who does “RaCoBe” (Range, Consumption, Best Speed) tests on EVs to try and work out the optimum speed to drive at when you consider the faster you go, the more energy you use and thus the longer you spend charging when you stop.

I seem to remember the Zoe in his tests came out as 120kph (70mph) as the optimum speed to drive at, which is convenient here in the UK!

That said, it can depend on the journey - sometimes you might prefer the journey if you drive at 60mph continuously rather than 70mph with a stop to charge.