Charging card

I’m new to this (EVs and forums) so please excuse any ignorance.
I’ve been reading some of the posts to find some info, but am still a little befuddled.
Onto refer to the Polar network of chargers. As far as I can tell, they’ve beeen bought up and are now owned by BP Pulse. However, several people in the community refer Shell cards. I’m confused!
Also, I’m thinking of hiring one of the Zoe R135’s. It mentions rapid (50Kw) charging in the list of features. Presumably, if they are “Rapid”, they come with three charging cables - CCS (up to 50Kw), Type 2 (22Kw) and three pin (home socket - 7.2Kw)? Is that correct?
I don’t drive great distances and there is only one Polar (BP Pulse?) charger near me (my local Post office is CM22 6EH if anyone wants to do a search) and is 20 minutes drive. Obviousy, included charging is a major factor in deciding to hire from Onto and I’m happy to drive once or twice a week to get an 80% charge, but will my three-pin get me out of trouble if necessary? What will it give me for, say, 5 hours charge - 30 miles? Or more?
Finally, should I have posted all these questions separately? Please let me know if I’ve broken any community etiqette.
Thanks in advance for any help.

1 Like

Welcome! On.to used to have only polar, now bp pulse, included, but they have now also partnered with shell and shell charging cards have been sent out for customers to use.

You only need two cables, which are both included, a type 2 for up to 22kW and a 3-pin granny charger, since rapid charger (50kW and more) have the cable connected to the actual charger, so you only need to plug it into your car.

The 3-pin charger will charge with around 2.3kW so will give you around 10kW in 5 hours including any charging loss. That should be enough for around 30 miles, but hopefully someone with a ZE50 can chime in and confirm this.

1 Like